Central Ohio Mayor's Court Association
Site Links
Memorial Fund

Central Ohio Association of Mayor’s Court Clerks

Constitution and By-Laws

Article I

The name of this organization shall be known as the Central Ohio Association of Mayor’s Court Clerks.

Article II

The purpose of this organization shall be to improve court administration, to add to the knowledge of the court clerks, to encourage efficiency, to promote high standards in clerk of court duties, and to cooperate with other court associated organizations to create unity and better mutual understanding.

Article III

Any municipality having an appointed or elected Clerk within our nine county regions (Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Knox, Licking, Madison, Morrow, Pickaway, and Union) is eligible to become a member of the Central Ohio Association of Mayor’s Court Clerks.  Associate membership is offered to any municipality having an appointed or elected Clerk outside our nine county regions.  Associate members have no vote.  Any individual, agency, business or organization associated with the Mayor’s Courts of the State of Ohio shall be eligible for an Affiliate Membership.

Application for Affiliate Membership must be accompanied by current dues and paid to the Secretary-Treasurer.
Application for membership accompanied by the current dues shall be made to the Secretary-Treasurer.
Dues shall be fixed by the majority vote of the assembled membership at the first meeting of each calendar year upon recommendation by the Executive Committee.

Article IV


Representatives of communities in good standing of this association are eligible for nomination and election of officers.

Officers shall be President, Vice-President, and Secretary-Treasurer.  Each officer shall be elected to a one (1) year term.  Officers shall be eligible for re-election to the same office for one (1) additional year if so desired at the expiration of their term. TheSecretary-Treasurer shall be eligible for consecutive terms if elected by the membership.  Elections will be held in December of each year, with officers being sworn in at the January meeting of the next year.  All officers shall serve until their successors are elected and seated.

Any vacancy in the office of President shall be filled by the next highest rank.  Vacancies in other offices shall be filled for the remainder of the vacant term by majority vote of members present at any regular meeting.

All officers shall have the monthly meeting fee waived.  Approval may be given by the Executive Committee for any specific expenses providing sufficient monies do exist in the Treasury.

The President and Secretary-Treasurer shall be responsible for control of the funds and property of the Association.

Any officer of the Association may be removed from said office by a vote of any two-thirds (2/3) of the members as a whole.

Duties of the President shall be:  to preside over meetings, deposit bank deposits which are prepared by the Secretary-Treasurer.  The duties for the Vice President shall be:  assume duties as President when President is unavailable or unable to perform duties; arrange a meeting place, guest speakers and an agenda for each meeting.  The duties of Secretary-Treasurer shall be:  take minutes at all meetings, keep financial records in good order (by issuing pre-numbered receipts for receivables, preparing a bank deposit for the President, and paying all debts in a timely manner); monthly reconciliation of the checkbook; providing monthly financial statements to the members and issuing meeting notices.

Article V

Regular meetings of the Association shall be held approximately once per month at locations and times on dates which are all pre-determined by the membership as a body.

Article VI
Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall consist of the officers of the organization and the Regional Delegate to the State Association.  The Regional Delegate shall be selected by a majority vote of members present.  Election of the Regional Delegate will take place at the same time as the election of officers.

The Association President shall serve as the Chairman of the Executive Committee.

The President will provide for an audit and/or examination of the records and accounts annually.  The Secretary-Treasurer shall submit the records for audit whenever requested by the Executive Committee or by whosoever said committee has designated for such purposes.

Article VII

The President shall appoint such committees as are deemed necessary.  All committee chairs shall be members in good standing and may be invited to attend any Executive Committee meetings.

Article VIII
Parliamentary Authority

Rules contained in Roberts Rules of Order, Revised shall govern the proceedings of the Association in all cases where applicable and where they are not inconsistent with the By-Laws or special rules of this Association.

The Vice President shall assume the duty of the Parliamentarian.

Article IX

Each municipality that is a member in good standing in attendance at any meeting will be entitled to one vote.  All voting shall be viva-voce.  Ballot voting is required if there is more than one nomination for office and to remove an officer.  A majority of the votes cast will be necessary for a decision.  Associate members have no vote.

Article X

These By-Laws may be amended by a two-thirds (2/3) vote of the members present at any regular meeting providing copies of the proposed changes are given in writing to all members seven (7) days prior to such meeting.

Article XI

Should the Association be dissolved, all monies in the Association’s Treasury shall be divided equally among all member courts after any outstanding debts have been paid.

Last revised 1/12/10






Membership I Meetings I Education I Archives I Memorial Fund I By-Laws I Links I Home